Type to search




Fentress Architects has revealed that Port of Oakland director, Bryant Francis, and DFW’s executive vice president of airport development and planning, Khaled Naja, will help judge the future airport designs submitted in this year’s Fentress Global Challenge (FGC).

c148fa3aacc0143b080306e50266354c XL

Open to graduate and undergraduate students who are currently pursuing architecture or engineering degrees in an accredited university programme, as well as recent graduates (within the last four years) with a degree in architecture or engineering, participants of the FGC are encouraged to re-envision the terminal building in the year 2075. 

All entries have to delve into one or more broad topic related to airport architecture and the future of aviation such as mobility, urbanisation, globalisation, technology, flexibility, security, project feasibility, and passenger experience in 2075.

And designs must centre on one of these airports or one of comparable size – Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta (ATL); Beijing Capital (PEK); London Heathrow (LHR); Chicago O’Hare (ORD); Tokyo Haneda (HND); Los Angeles (LAX); Paris CDG (CDG); Dallas/Fort Worth (DFW); Frankfurt (FRA); and Hong Kong (HKG).

As part of the challenge, participants have to create a new airport concept that replaces current terminal structures.


The FGC’s panel of judges or jury also includes Curtis Fentress, founder and principal in charge of design at Fentress Architects; IATA’s Thomas Pellegrin; the FAA’s Ken Gidlow; Rice Space Institute’s Dr David Alexander; Harvard’s Charles Waldeheim; and The Crash Detectives author, Christine Negroni.

Upon the release of the shortlist on July 1, 2019, jury members will assess each shortlisted design based on creative approach, response to site, sustainability, and functionality.

On July 17th, the jury will meet to determine the First-Place winner, who will receive US$10,000 in prize money along with the opportunity to accompany Curtis Fentress to a prestigious architectural event where the winner(s) will receive their award.

Three additional winners will receive smaller cash prizes.

Fentress Architects says: “The rapid evolution of airports necessitates the incorporation of the latest developments in technology, design, and social trends around the globe.


“To address these changes, we launched the Fentress Global Challenge to advance the pursuit of innovative airport design. Participants must choose an existing airport and envision how its terminals will look and function in 2075, focusing on local context, technological trends, project innovation and passenger experience.

“The students’ innovations will spark conversation amongst the jury, creating a think tank where the jury members will discuss future trends in airport design.”


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *